What edits can I make to a custom racetrack?

You can edit the racetrack settings, map, and milestones in both draft and published custom racetracks. This article will walk you through how to make these changes.

How can I edit or delete a custom racetrack?

Any edits to your custom racetrack need to be made from the Racetrack Creator, whether the map is still in draft form, published, or live in a challenge. Go to the Challenges tab in the admin center and toggle to Custom racetracks to view all of your custom racetracks, listed from most recently created to oldest.

You can view the status of your racetrack in the "Status" column. To permanently delete a racetrack you no longer want to have available, click the trashcan icon and confirm. Note that deleting a racetrack is permanent. To edit your published racetrack, simply click on the edit pencil icon to be taken back to the editing page for that specific racetrack.

Below, we break down the changes you can make to your racetrack by section. The ✅ icon means you can edit and the ❌ icon means you either can’t edit that feature or should be cautious when editing.

Editing the racetrack settings

Click the edit pencil icon in the Settings section to edit your racetrack settings. Here is an overview of the edits you can make to your settings:

Racetrack Settings

Draft Racetrack

Published Racetrack

Next steps

*Change map type from MoveSpring library map to Custom map

Not possible. If you want to change the map type, you must create a new custom racetrack.

Upload a map and choose a map path.

**Change map type from Custom map to MoveSpring library map

Not possible. If you want to change the map type, you must create a new custom racetrack.

Choose a map from the library.

Toggle milestones from off to on

Create milestones.

Toggle milestones from on to off

Confirm deletion of any milestones you've previously created.

Racetrack name

*If you change from a MoveSpring Library Map to a Custom Map:

  • If you leave milestones toggled on, any milestones you've previously created will be retained.

  • If you toggle milestones off, you will see an alert asking you to confirm deletion of any milestones you've previously created. You must confirm deletion to proceed.

**If you change from a Custom Map to a MoveSpring Library Map:

  • You will see an alert asking you to confirm deletion of any custom map uploads you've previously completed. You must confirm deletion to proceed.

  • If you previously had milestones toggled off, you will now need to create milestones.

  • If you previously had milestones toggled on, any milestones you've created will be retained.

Editing the map

Click the edit pencil icon in the Your Map section to edit your map. Here is an overview of the edits you can make to your map:

Your Map

Draft Racetrack

Published Racetrack

Next Steps

Edit MoveSpring Library map

Choose a new map from the library. Changing the map will not change the location of your milestones.

*Edit custom map

Replace, delete, or add images as needed and choose a new map path.

*If you edit a custom map:

  • You can make any necessary changes to your images the same way you did when creating your map. You can upload additional images, delete undesired images (as long as you keep at least the minimum of 3 images total in the map), and edit or replace images as needed.

  • When you change the images, you will automatically be prompted to change the path as well. You can choose the same path you had previously, but you need to confirm your choice as the path might look different on your new images. You must edit the path if you edit the map panes in order to save your new map changes.

For detailed instructions on editing your map for your draft racetrack, check out our help article on uploading a custom map.

Editing the milestones

Click the edit pencil icon in the Your Milestones section to edit your milestones. Here is an overview of the edits you can make to your milestones:

Your Milestones

Draft Racetrack

Published Racetrack

Next Steps

Change milestone title, image, body, video, and/or logo

Make desired edits. Click the Preview icon to view your changes, and click Save to finalize.

Delete milestones

Click the trash can icon to delete a milestone

*Edit milestone location on path

Possible but not recommended if racetrack is live in a challenge.

*We do not recommend moving the milestone locations for a racetrack that is currently live in a challenge, as it could be confusing to your users and change which milestones they've unlocked. If you do need to edit the milestone placement for a racetrack that is live in a challenge, you will need to rescore the challenge to ensure the placement updates for all your users correctly.

For detailed instructions on editing your milestones, check out our help article on creating milestones.

FAQs

What's the difference between a draft racetrack and a published racetrack?

Drafts are not available when selecting the map theme for a Virtual Race Challenge when you are creating a challenge. Published maps are available to choose for a Virtual Race Challenge.

In a draft, you can save and exit the Racetrack Creator at any point and return to it later! You will be able to save your progress without every section requirement being complete. For a published map, you cannot save and exit the creator if there are unmet requirements.

Can I edit a published racetrack that is live in my challenge?

Yes, you can edit a published racetrack that is live in a challenge. If you make changes to a racetrack in a challenge with participants, however, be aware that your users might notice those changes depending on how far along the path they are. For this reason, we recommend testing out your published racetrack in a private challenge that only you or selected admins can view first. That way, you can make any needed changes before setting it live for your participants!

Need More Help?

If you have any questions about editing your custom racetrack that we didn't answer here, please reach out to our Support Team by clicking the blue chat icon at the bottom right of your screen for more help.

Did this answer your question?